Wed

So, I have a husband.

That still feels weird to say even though it feels awesome to have.

We have returned from our honeymoon, tan in spots, peeling in others, travel-weary, and happy. The cats have forgiven us and there are bills to pay and thank you notes to write. It feels good to be home and to settle into our married life.

The wedding was, in a word, beautiful. I’ve never felt more happy or more loved in all my life. Actually, the entire weekend was like that from the moment our friends starting arriving from out-of-town, it was a total lovefest. There was a minute on Thursday night when I stopped and looked at my house filled with so many of our far away friends and felt my heart almost burst. Then in dance class the next day, the morning of my bachelorette party, I thought it might burst again. My teacher dedicated the class to me and used one of my favorite playlists. At the end she asked everyone to “send love to the bride” and I can’t really describe the feeling of having a community of people smile and send good energy my way as I sat there blinking back tears of joy. As if testing what my heart can hold, the bachelorette party was amazing- lots of sharing and smiling and laughter and singing. I’m pretty sure my sister and I reviving our old “Morning Train” act will always be a highlight for me though it is closely followed by Tomato, Dokey, and I belting out “Weather With You” or Jenny Two Times and I busting out with “Love Will Keep Us Together.”

The rehearsal brunch was so sweet. It meant so much to have everyone in our wedding sitting around a table, just getting to know one another. I started tearing up just practicing the walk down the imaginary aisle at the run through so I knew I’d be in trouble on Sunday. The good kind of trouble though. There was this moment later in the day on Saturday as Mr. Darcy and I stood together in our house saying our good-byes as he was on his way to his hotel room and later I would make my way to mine. It struck us that this was the last time we’d see each other before our wedding and we were both emotional. It was sweet and sentimental and I can’t quite put it into words- I was just so grateful and so in love with him in that moment. Everything felt full of promise and joy.

I have so many favorite moments of the entire wedding weekend, I’ll probably have to make a list. But the moment I turned the corner of the venue while The Local Strangers sang a cover of Joshua Radin’s song “Today” is hands down one of the best moments of my entire life. I caught a glimpse of Mr. Darcy before everyone stood and as I attempted to walk slowly up to the front I was smiling like a total loon and crying more and more at every beautiful face I saw looking back at me. So many people I love! In one room! We’re getting married! I can’t believe this day has finally come!

All the feelings. All the good feelings, overcame me.

The groom.

The bride.

And then we became husband and wife.

*****

I will post more about the details as I feel inspired but I also don’t want to overwhelm you with more wedding talk. I feel like that’s all I’ve talked about for so long now.

(I did not use my phone the entire night so I only have some stolen photos from the event. We probably won’t get our professional photos for a while, so apologies for not posting more.)

46 thoughts on “Wed

  1. What an absolutely gorgeous memory!! Memories! I am so happy to hear that everything went so perfect. Congrats to you both!! ❤

  2. I love love love! the necklace !! It’s perfect and you look gorgeous! I can’t wait for the professional pics!
    And thanks for giving in and writing about it!

  3. You know what is strange? People keep asking me for pics of the wedding. I think they are just fascinated at the thought of me in a dress, but it still feels weird.

  4. Congratulations my dear friend! You made a stunningly gorgeous bride. From the pictures I’ve seen so far, you are absolutely glowing and radiant. I’m so happy for you. You deserved all of this love coming to you. It’s your turn to be on the receiving end of all the good! Much love to you and your new husband!

  5. YESSS!!!! So so so happy for you two and your perfect day (weekend… weekl!!!!). It is so great when the wedding is about your network of love and support (imho) and I am so happy you felt that. I cannot wait to hear all the little stories that pop in to your head as the weeks go on. And see more pics!

    Congrats!!!

  6. See. Even though I was there, I didn’t know all this!! Because, you know, you had eleventy billion people to converse with. And yeah, I teared up reading this. SUE ME.

  7. Huge Congratulations! 🙂 You are beautiful and glowing with the red rose and the gorgeous necklace, and the groom looks handsome and happy. Can’t wait for lots of wedding talk and pics, many many pics. So happy for you and your husband, have a great life!

  8. You look gorgeous! Love the necklace and the flower and the pretty eye makeup. And the expression of joy.

    My wedding day was the happiest day of my life and I’m glad yours was happy and special, too,

  9. Awe you made me all teary! That feeling like your heart is going to burst – there’s really nothing better. I try to recall those moments often because I want to keep the memories as clear as I can. Did you guys video any of the ceremony? That’ll be a tear-jerker when you watch it for sure.

    I’m so happy for you two. And so glad you had a great honeymoon. Oh and that whole “husband” word weirdness? It’s surprising how quickly it fades. 😉 Congrats again!

  10. Awww, what a wonderful post! That heart bursting feeling — that’s the thing I felt so many times during my own wedding events. It’s impossible to explain, but you know it when you feel it and it’s so intense and so good. I’m glad you felt it too and that you felt it over and over again.

  11. You are, hands down, one of the most beautiful brides I’ve ever seen. Just because your day is over, just because the honeymoon has passed, does not mean you need to stop relishing in all the meaningful moments. Enjoy them. Share them. Because, there won’t be another event like this (for you) in your lifetime!

  12. May it all be everything you wish for. May the happiness always be greater than anything other than happiness. May the love always win. Blessing to you both!

  13. Hey Sizz – be sure to say “hi” to your husband for all of us. (see – it is fun for everybody!) Fabulous photos and thanks for sharing your immersed-in-joy ceremony/weekend with those of us here in your online world. May your bliss always shine through on each and every day together.

  14. It’s so wonderful to hear that you felt love and happiness the entire weekend. I, for one, will read several more wedding posts and look at several more pictures, so please don’t hold back! 🙂

  15. What wonderful memories! I am so glad you and your husband were surrounded by such love and joy that day. And you both looked so thrilled and content!

  16. Oh, Congratulations! This beautiful recount made MY heart burst, and I don’t even know you personally! 🙂 You two are a gorgeous couple. So much happiness to you—enjoy your newlyweddedness!

  17. I’ve been lurking here for a few years now (which is hard for me to believe… but there it is) but I really wanted to delurk to say, congratulations! You look beautiful and happy.

  18. You both look so beautiful in the pics that you did post. I’m so glad you had such a wonderful day. Friends, family and the man that you love – what could be better? Congratulations!!!!!!!!!!

  19. Belated congrats! So, so happy for you and that you felt so loved … it’s an amazing feeling, this getting-married, and I’m thrilled for you that you had such a wonderful time. Here’s to the future!!

  20. Pingback: Our Wedding Photos Are Here! | Sizzle Says

Comments are closed.