Milestones

A year ago today Mr. Darcy and I donned fancy clothes and in front of our nearest & dearest, vowed to choose each other every day for the rest of our lives.

toasting

That was the best day of my life.

It has not been a carefree year for us. I look at this picture and remember how incredibly happy we were despite a year where we fought The Cancer, started a new job, bought a house, and moved all while planning the wedding. We thought that we were on an upswing after all that stress. And we were but it didn’t last long enough. Upswings rarely do.

The thing is- even though we have had a rocky first year, we as a couple are not rocky. Despite all the sorrow, we have done our best to navigate it with tenderness, grace, and humor. It’s often been downright brutal and we’ve fallen apart and put each other back together again and again. If there’s one thing I can say that’s good from all the bad it’s that we are stronger for our troubles. I would not wish anyone else by my side than Mr. Darcy. Even when we’re fighting, even when we’re lost in our own grief, and especially when we’re laughing. Marrying a guy who can make me laugh when I’m crying is among one of my smartest choices in this life.

This past weekend we got ourselves an anniversary gift.

otis sits

His name is Otis and he is a seven week old Australian Shepherd and Catahoula Leopard mix.

As we drove home with him, I cried. I was just overcome with how much I needed him. We both need something happy to turn our attention to and to love together. A salve for our wounded hearts. Enter Otis, the best present ever.

otis comes home otis sleeps

We’re hoping year two has less troubles and more joy. I think Otis might help with that.

I love you, Darcy. Thank you for being my person.

39 thoughts on “Milestones

  1. Happy anniversary you guys.
    Don’t you hate when the “happily ever after” doesn’t last much longer than when the guests have left the building?

    You had an incredibly hard year, but I love how you’ve supported each other through these hard times.
    Otis was absolutely deserved and will definitely help heal the pain a little bit. I wish you guys nothing but the best from here on out…. No more bad news.

    XO

  2. Happy Anniversary Sizz and Mr. D! You two are THE BEST and so glad you have sweet Otis. When you feel like nothing’s going right, a precious pup can be just the remedy to soothe a wounded heart.

    Keep on truckin’, you two. The road ahead may be bumpy but you’ll ride on it together – and before long those bumps will smooth out and you’ll realize you are on your perfect path.

    Love to you both, always.

  3. I recognize so much of myself in this post, I had to reach out to you. My husband and I had a somewhat similar first year of marriage – it was filled with sadness, loss and stress. And while I do believe we are stronger for it, it provides a great “milestone” to compare our lives to – I mean, if we can survive that year, we can do anything. I so hope you are both turning a corner now, and that the rest of your years will only improve. I know ours have and I believe yours will as well. Although I know can handle anything as a team now, I hope there’s very little to handle in your future.

    And yes, furry little dogs have helped a lot with our journey. Wishing you so much happiness.

  4. Oh, the joy of being a dog mamma. It’s one of my most favorite things in the world. Ever.

    Also, your comment about all you did while planning the wedding? I can relate: we had an epic custody battle, moved, D started a new job, I went back to my old job and we were planning a wedding. Holy cow was it nuts.

    And then what you say about not being a rocky couple? I can safely echo that as well. We just had our one year anniversary and while we had some epic mountains (albeit totally different, I’m happyt to say that at the end of the day, we are not rocky. I’m so grateful for that.

  5. AHHH! Otis is precious! I am so happy he is in your home! And I am so happy that despite the shittiest year, you have the greatest partner. Happy Anniversary! πŸ™‚

  6. Happy Anniversary to you both! I have no doubt little Otis will continue to bring you joy and puppy training frustration πŸ˜‰ daily. It’s a fun journey to go through together and like I said last night in my tweet… I’m so happy you and Otis found each other. Higgy helped me heal from losing Ace and Finn has helped me heal from losing Higgy… lots of loss, but so many smiles and puppy kisses along the way. Cheers to year 2! xoxo

  7. This made me teary. Happy Anniversary you two crazy kids! Here I thought the first year gift was “paper” but I guess it’s “puppy.” πŸ˜‰ He’s so adorable and I’m so glad you added him to your sweet little family.

  8. I have loved all the photos you’ve shared! And you will have a high-energy, fun dog with those breeds, which is so great. Totally changes how you live life, as you know. It’s so good.
    Happy Anniversary to you two!

  9. Oh I’m so happy to see some good news here! Otis is ADORABLE and such a great name! Happy anniversary and here’s to a better year 2.

  10. Happiest anniversary, Sizz!

    Puppy! That Otis is a snugglebunny and a character, you can see it in his adorable sweet little puppy face. You three deserve each other and every particle of joy and love you’ll share. May the next year be the very best.

  11. I never comment but I do always read… but I must say I truly believe when the world is falling apart around you, sometimes the only thing that can save you is a puppy. I had a rough (understatement…) year myself (nothing compared to yours, which was brutal just to read, and I cannot imagine the pain you’ve been through). I fostered three puppies back in March and kept one of them for myself… he has been hell on wheels and yet, even in my most frustrated moments, I don’t regret getting him for a second. Enjoy your little Otis… what a precious little pup! Congrats πŸ™‚ ❀

  12. So very sweet. I am glad you guys have each other. What a wonderful party you threw 1 year ago! I am thankful to have been apart of your celebration.

    Cheers to another year together.

    Love that Otis. Can’t wait to meet him.
    Please can we get together!

  13. Late, as usual. But I did want to say that my eyes welled up with love when I read this. I love you both very much, and I admire that you’re even standing after the last year +, much less making it together and expanding your family with one very cute furry one. Beautiful. xo

  14. I realize I’m over a week late, but happy anniversary to you two! I’m so glad you have each other and the both of you now have Otis. What a sweet addition to the family!!

  15. Happy Anniversary to you both. Wishing you much peace and calm in the year ahead.

    (Your puppy is adorable!)

  16. A billion days late, but Happy Anniversary!

    Also — one of my best friends is named Otis. He goes by his middle name, but he is Otis. It’s a great name. And THE CUTEST PUPPY.

  17. Happy Anniversary! Congratulations on your new puppy!

    We have a Catahoula here. They are loving, sweet, smart – and like to stay busy. They are also clumsy, silly, 60# LAP DOGS. You will love him more than you ever thought possible. Keep him busy, though. You do NOT want a bored Catahoula. Trust me.

Comments are closed.