Life with Otis

It’s hard to believe it’s only been a month since Otis joined our family. It feels like so much longer. Partly because we’re so exhausted and partly because he’s just such a joy. The cats don’t wholeheartedly agree yet but they are coming around. They actually will enter the room now if Otis is there which is a far cry better than when he first arrived and they recoiled in horror at the sight of him.

otis's first day home

Baby Otis on his first day in our home.

We manage our time differently now and take into consideration that there’s a wee pup at home waiting for company when we make plans. We get up early to play with him and spend hours after work avoiding his puppy nips and relishing in his sweetness. I take him to the office some days where he has won over the hearts of all my co-workers. I have never had so many people come by my cubicle. When I leave him at home, they inquire where he is and make pouty faces. Pretty soon I will need to come up with a better barricade because he’s growing so fast. I swear every morning I see a change.

Otis is very popular at the office but he's not very good at filing or data entry.

Otis is very popular at the office but he’s not very good at filing or data entry.

Last night Mr. Darcy took him to his first puppy training class (I had a work function, sadly) and he was a star. He learned to sit in one class! This gives me great hope that potty training him outside will not be arduous though we anticipate some accidents and sleepless nights in our future.

Otis loves toys. And ankles. And jeans. And stray socks. And hands.

Otis loves toys. And ankles.
And jeans. And stray socks. And hands.

We’re so grateful to have such a lively, sweet pup in our family. We’re anxiously awaiting his second round of shots so we can have puppy play dates with our friends and go on walks.

I will miss this piglet belly when he gets bigger and outgrows it.

I will miss this piglet belly when he gets bigger and outgrows it.

15 thoughts on “Life with Otis

  1. He is so cute – I love his little round puppy belly! You almost make me want a puppy except I think my cats would probably punish us indefinitely. Dot and Dash are obviously more evolved. 😉

  2. Totally adorable. You didn’t mention one of my favorite puppy accessories – those whiffs of sour-milk breath you get when they are licking your face (because he licks your face and you let him, right? I was always led to believe that was, um, what was “best for the puppy??)…

    Cats can be so all about maintaining the status quo, can’t they? When our daughter moved back while pursuing another degree her cat and our cat took a full two years to establish detente.

  3. He is so cute! As we have discussed, this is both a fun thing and an evolutionary necessity to balance out the ornery. 🙂
    I am not surprised he learned to sit quickly. Dogs with working breeds in them tend to catch on quickly, which just leads to needing more jobs (for them, not us). They love having a lot to do!

  4. Awwww he’s just so cute – gorgeous colour too!

    I totally miss that big pink belly look. You’re making me miss raising my Pug puppies right now!

  5. Otis has such a sweet face. Makes you already forgive him, even when he’s gotten into trouble. Watch out! Dogs DEFINITELY are a lifestyle changer. But, Otis will hopefully give you many years of devoted love in return. He’s worth it!

Comments are closed.