5 Minute Breakfast Poem #1

April is National Poetry Month and my magnificent friend Amy is encouraging us to take 5 minutes every Friday over breakfast and just jot down a poem. Please feel free to join us!

Woke to the stillness of a cold morning,
covered in cats and a blanket of missing
you.
Lying in a bed of jumbled sheets and humbled
knowing- I am now a we.

The small gestures live bigger in your absence.
Who will make the bed, take out the trash, or
let our cat make a permanent home in their lap?
But more than that I miss-
the good morning greetings as you fumble to the shower,
how you maddeningly eat pistachios,
a cluster perched upon your belly,
as we watch television,
the way you holler “hola!” when I walk in the door
even though you do not speak any Spanish,
the way you insist on saying “I love you” and kissing me goodnight.

It’s just that when I look at you
and you look at me,
I am home.

***

And because I love poetry so much, here’s one of my favorites by one of my favorites:

you shall above all things be glad and young.
For if you’re young, whatever life you wear

it will become you;and if you are glad
whatever’s living will yourself become.
Girlboys may nothing more than boygirls need:
i can entirely her only love

whose any mystery makes every man’s
flesh put space on;and his mind take off time

that you should ever think, may god forbid
and (in his mercy) your true lover spare:
for that way knowledge lies, the foetal grave
called progress, and negations dead undoom.

I’d rather learn from one bird how to sing
than teach ten thousand stars how not to dance

e.e. cummings

19 thoughts on “5 Minute Breakfast Poem #1

  1. I was going to say exactly what Angella said. Goosebumps. I love poetry – thank you for sharing and reminding me about this month. Maybe I’ll whip something up for Mr. W’s birthday.

  2. This: “the way you holler β€œhola!” when I walk in the door
    even though you do not speak any Spanish,
    the way you insist on saying β€œI love you” and kissing me goodnight.

    It’s just that when I look at you
    and you look at me,
    I am home.” made me cry. I love you. I am so glad you are doing this. xo

  3. Thank you, love. Deeply and humbly, thank you. I now need to eat crow and say how wrong I was in not liking poetry. You have proven me wrong and I am big enough to admit how much this moved me. xoxoxo

  4. Pingback: 5 Minute Breakfast Poem #2 « Sizzle Says

  5. Pingback: 5 Minute Friday Breakfast Poem #3 « Sizzle Says

  6. Pingback: Poetry Month, The End « Sizzle Says

Comments are closed.