Counting Down

In four days I will be in Chicago.

To say I am excited would be an understatement of epic proportions.

While I am looking forward to attending the BlogHer Conference, I would be lying if I said that’s my only reason for going. I was on the fence about attending after last year but once they announced the location, I was sold. I haven’t been to Chicago since I was ten which basically means I have never been since I was ten in 1983. Besides, we didn’t even sightsee- we just hung out with relatives and the only real memory I have from it is that my second cousin got his mouth washed out with soap and he liked it. (HE LIKED IT.)

I digress.

Not only is Chicago a fantastically cool city but it’s also the home of some of my favorite bloggers. Bloggers that I’ve been reading for a long time now and am insanely excited to meet in person. (I am looking at you Kapgar, Nilsa, Diane, Kim and Tori.) Not only that but some of my old blogging pals will be in town and I’m happy to get to spend more time with them. The list of people I am excited to see again or meet for the first time is way too long. I will spare you because I am nice like that. Add to that the fact that I am rooming with none other than Kerrianne and Angella and you can bet your sweet ass I’m going to have an epic good time. I’m 98% certain we will be busting out with some Boom Boom Pow grooves in our hotel room.

The only thing concerning me now is not what I am going to wear or what sessions I am going to attend but how in the hell I am going to fit in the conference activities AND all the sightseeing I want to do AND spend time with all the super awesome bloggers.Β  I really should have stayed more than one extra day. More like an extra week. If only I was made of money. And didn’t have two jobs.

I realize that a lot of non-attendees get sick of hearing about BlogHer this and BlogHer that so I will TRY to not tweet my fingers off at the conference. I don’t have a lap top so I won’t be posting. (You’re welcome.) BUT, if you’re going to BlogHer or are in Chicago, let me know in the comments so I can look for you and possibly accost you with a big hug. I’m friendly like that.

33 thoughts on “Counting Down

  1. Wow. I don’t think I’ve ever heard of anyone liking their mouth washed out with soap.

    Again, am SO super jealous everyone is going to BlogHer this year! I hope they have it in DC next year. πŸ™‚ Oh and please take pictures and tell us everything when you get back!

  2. I had never heard of BlogHer until this year- by reading everyone else’s posts about it! Needless to say, I will not be able to attend. I think I am considering that to be unfortunate, from all the buzz about it.

    Perhaps next time.

  3. Fuck yeah, Sizzle just gave me a shout-out on her blog. My life is complete! (Did I just say that? Outloud?) This weekend will be epic. And while I will be minimizing the BlogHer exposure on my blog, too, it’s hard not to do cartwheels about what’s to come. Can’t wait to meet you, hon. xoxo

  4. I hope you have a great time- you will be taking many pictures to share with the rest of us, right?

    he liked it (HE LIKED IT)

    HA!

  5. I wish you had more time to spend here too–there is so much to see and do!
    But regardless, I cannot wait to be accosted with a big hug from you! Yeah!! (

  6. …you are going to have a blast, i just know it …we need to go for drinks when you get back so you can tell me all about it!

  7. BlogHer? More like BlogMeh. Now if they had a BlogBeer, I’d be all over that.

    And, ironically, I’m made of money. Unfortunately, it’s Monopoly money.

  8. I’m going to Chicago on the 30th for a Creative Memories convention. Not a lot of time for doing things, but we do have tickets see Jersey Boys!

  9. i’m leaving tomorrow for blogher and i’m so excited. i just hope i can fit everything in that i want to do since i’ve never been to chicago! ah i cannot wait!

  10. We’ll miss you while your gone. No post, really? Bummer! Anyway, have a great time. It sounds like you need some time away.

  11. Man, I am so bummed that I won’t be there for BlogHer this year. Last year, when it was conveniently held in SF, I could spontaneously decide to come (and hang out with Kerrianne and others), but this time, Chicago is just TOO FAR AWAY 😦
    I kind of missed the opportunity to meet you in person, as I only remember passing by you in the lobby of the hotel one time. Too bad I didn’t read your blog back then.
    I hope you’ll have a blast (and hug Kerrianne for me!)

  12. Have a great time in Chicago. Eat at Giordano’s Pizza. Have the deep dish. Seriously. I miss Chicago. I have family there. My mother’s final resting place is there. I don’t get to Chicago nearly as often as I’d like. Must work on that.

  13. I’ve never been. When I heard it was in Chicago this year, I thought I might, but then I came to Caracas for the summer, which makes it difficult, so not going this year either. Oh well, I’ll live vicariously through you, have a great time!

  14. Have a blast in Chicago at BlogHer. I really enjoyed myself last year. And I loved Chicago a couple summers back. Combine them and all is good!!

  15. I am beyond excited too and already wishing I had booked to stay longer. My only problem now is I feel like my wardrobe needs an overhaul since I was attacked by a dog last night. Not so sightly in a cocktail dress anymore. But YAY! BlogHer! You are getting in on Thursday? Want to car share? My flight arrives at 3:20pm. (OHare)

  16. Wait! Did I think you were with wino at one point in time or was i high? probably high…

    you’ll have a wonderful time and am bummed that I’m not meeting you again this year.

    have fun!

  17. You are going to have a great time! Chicago is such a beautiful city! I am sure it is on your to-do list, but of course, make sure you make it to Millennium Park!

    Can’t wait to see you on Sunday!

Comments are closed.