Goal One: CHECK

The last time I weighed myself was July 15th, almost three weeks ago. I weighed 209 pounds.

This morning, with trepidation, I stepped on the scale. After two weeks of travel, boozing and battling a head cold (re: no exercise and weird eating patterns), I was worried that the scale would shame me. Surprisingly, it said 203 pounds which is a loss of 21lbs since I started.

Okay then. I’ll take that number!

What this means is, I’ve met my first goal of losing 20lbs before my friend’s wedding which is happening THIS Sunday. At one point I upped the ante saying I could lose 25lbs before the wedding but that was just me being an impatient overachiever. To celebrate this small victory, I bought myself a new dress for the wedding. It is yellow and retro-inspired and I am getting it tailored to fit which means it will look even better. (Yes, I will post pictures.)

So what does this mean? THIS IS WORKING! I’m still running ragged with a stupid summer cold but I plan to return to the pool three times a week starting tonight. Now that the weather is cooling down, I’m hopefully going to start playing tennis with a friend. And I’m going to keep at my sit up and push up challenge. I want to master week six so that I can do all the exercises without having to pause. I’m also planning on going back to phase one of South Beach next week- no fruits, carbs, booze, sugars- for two weeks to reset my cravings. I’m finding it really easy to maintain phase two because there are so many options of what I can eat. It feels like a lifestyle not a diet and that is how I know I will keep at it. The occasional slice of baguette or mini cupcake with refined sugar is not going to set me off on some crazy white flour/sugar binge. I honestly don’t crave that stuff at all anymore. But I do miss beer. I admit it! I love beer. Le sigh.

I’m ultimately trying to lose 80lbs total but I’m open to adjusting that depending on how my body changes with exercise and healthy eating. Maybe I will feel good at 75lbs or 90lbs lost? It’s all about how I FEEL in my body. I put the number out there because it holds me accountable AND it’s me battling my worst fear- that people will know my weight, judge me harshly for it, and not like me. (Thanks neurotic mind!) In some small way I am hoping that people who read about my journey can see that people of all sizes can be beautiful, that we’re all more alike than we think with our struggles for self-acceptance regardless of what the scale reads, and that maybe, hopefully, we can all be kinder to one another as we bump into each other along the way.

70 thoughts on “Goal One: CHECK

  1. You are awesome. Good for you. I’m so happy this is working for you. I’ve recently been on the Wii fit and it’s sort of working. Though I still have a ways to go. Congrats and I’m sure the dress will look lovely.
    Tricia Honea

  2. I applaud you for using actual numbers. I’m not quite willing to do that yet. Good for you! That is absolutely amazing!!

    I reached my first mini-goal yesterday too and am now cheerfully tackling my next one. As long as its working, its easy to keep up the effort. 😉

    xo

  3. You are ever inspiring, sizzle.

    Congratulations on reaching the first of many goals you’ll reach!

    Enjoy the wedding! I can’t wait to see pics of your dress.

  4. Well done! It’s great that you have such a good attitude about this. I was getting SO frustrated by the fact that I was doing all this exercise but wasn’t losing any weight, and then I realized I’d had to tighten my belt down two holes and my arms weren’t jiggling as much any more and what did it matter that I wasn’t losing weight, I felt better and looked better.

    Sounds like you managed to get over the number with a lot less frustration and gnashing of teeth than me. I’m jealous!

  5. Congratulations, that is a huge accomplishment! Way to set realistic mini-goals, and I am impressed and inspired that you posted actual numbers. I am willing to bet that people like you just as much now as they did twenty pounds ago. it’s just more concentrated per pound now as there is less of you to love 🙂

    keep up the good work, can’t wait to see you rock that dress!

  6. HOORAY! that’s awesome! i can’t wait to see a pic of the dress.

    (also? i thought you were totally hot @ blogher and i have bosom envy.)

  7. Congratulations! This is a HUGE accomplishment and look at you all motivated to keep going. You are motivating ME. I battle the weight constantly and basically spend my life either in the process of gaining or losing the same 30 pounds. Over and over. Once again, I am in the losing process. But hey- we’re working on it, right? I can’t wait to see the photo of the new dress!

  8. Yay! I’m so excited for you, and very impressed with your success! I can’t wait to see pictures of you in your adorable dress!

  9. I am so impressed. Congrats on the weight loss and posting your numbers. You were beautiful 20lbs ago. But it is about feeling better about yourself (myself when I get off my damn ass and start doing something.) I just looked up to the comments and saw bosom envy, which made me giggle. Have fun at the wedding and enjoy the new dress. New dresses are the best!

  10. CONGRATULATIONS on meeting your first milestone goal. That’s a huge accomplishment! And based on personal experiences meeting you, I think people like you no matter what size you are. But YOU liking you is the most important. So, you go girl!

  11. Dude! Congratulations on reaching your first goal! I am very impressed with your restraint when it comes to refined sugar. Sugar is my crack.

  12. I just teared up (at work, damn you), because I am so happy for you! 21 pounds is a buttload of weight, and it’s even better to hear that you are feeling good about your body. And yes, pictures of the yellow dress, stat.

  13. WOOT! YAY! Is it ok to say I heart you? Because I do. This post gave me goosebumps my dear. Goosebumps and smiles. And you ARE beautiful! I’ll punch the person who says otherwise (remember, I’m small but feisty).

  14. WOOHOO! You’re gorgeous and dead sexy anyway but whatever makes you happy and feel like a superstar is all right by me. :o)

  15. You are so awesome!!! I agree, giving up the alcohol can be the hardest sometimes, not just because of the pleasure but because it is sooo hard to stick to in a social setting. And to explain. Blah.
    But! Success!! That is what matters! 🙂

  16. That’s AWESOME, Sizz! Once your body starts getting used to losing, it’s all like hmmmmm, I like this! Getting and seeing results is so motivating! Keep up whatever it is you’re doing 🙂 Yay!

  17. What an inspiration you are! Good for you!! You make me want a tennis friend, too. 🙂 And your last sentence – so, so true. We (especially us women) ARE all the same.

  18. Way to go Sizz!! That is a GREAT accomplishment! You are my inspiration…(cue “chicago”-like trumpet section)

    :0) Keep it up!!

  19. Congratulations! That’s great progress!

    I just started week 6 of situp challenge and even in column 1, day 1 was so hard. I’m quite a ways off from doing 200 all at once, but I’ll keep at it. Nice to have company.

  20. Congrats! And kudos to you for naming numbers. Do you know how many people won’t even list their age on Facebook? (Although, come to think of it, maybe that’s just to prevent identity theft…in which case I should probably remove my age from Facebook.)

  21. so proud of you!
    good job and i hope you reach your main goal!
    not only losing all the lbs you want, but also getting your body to adjust to the fitness and healthy living!
    YAY! for you!!!!!!!

  22. WTG! There’s nothing more motivating than a loss like that on the scale and watching yourself transform. That’s awesome to get the 2 lbs after going out of town and partying all weekend with fellow bloggers. You are in to win it (sounds cheesy! LOL) Keep it up! :o)

  23. WOOOOOT! You are awesome and inspiring! Hard work does pay off is a good reminder to all of us out here! 🙂

  24. Congratulations! I know you must feel great.

    I’m facing a big reunion year next year and thinking I need to get on the stick. But I refuse to focus on the number. I’m trying to reflect on how my clothing feels, how I feel in my body, and my fitness.

  25. I always see your tweets about sit ups and push ups and smile to myself that you’re doing so well with it all – you are so dedicated. Well done, you!

  26. Aw, YAY! SO happy for you. Rock on. (And by the way, you looked absolutely lovely and gorgeous and glowy when I met you in Chicago. If that counts for anything at all. :))

  27. Great work! You are an inspiration. You sharing this does make me feel better knowing I share some of the same insecurities 🙂

  28. Sizz! That is so awesome. I’m really proud of you. And I think to put it all out there is so brave but also so important! Keep going… you can totally do it. 🙂

  29. Just getting caught up on what you are up to. I was thinking of you when I drove thru Seattle last weekend and hoping you were well.

    That is awesome that you are losing weight. I am too though I’ve only been at it a month but it is working. It’s amazing how getting healthier can give me a more positive attitute about myself and the world in general. I just have to think of it as a lifestyle and not a diet I can go off of at the end of the race. ha. I’m so tired of the yo yo ing up and down.

    You looked nice in your retro dress and that was an awesome toast to your friend and new hubby.

  30. Pingback: Hurt So Good* « Sizzle Says

  31. Pingback: Motivation « Sizzle Says

  32. Pingback: Let’s Get Serious « Sizzle Says

  33. Pingback: No one can make you feel inferior without your consent.* « Sizzle Says

  34. Pingback: Body Hatred > Self-Love: Changing the Equation « Sizzle Says

Comments are closed.